Make Function Keys Default on Apple Keyboard in Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Even though I use a PC laptop, I have an Apple keyboard because I like how slim it is (means I don’t have to lift my palms too high off the table when typing). The problem I’ve had, since I started using Ubuntu heavily, is that Ubuntu will bind all the function keys to their related media functions. I’m sure that’s really intuitive if you’re not doing development – I am, and having to press fn+F5 all the time is a slight annoyance. After a little search I think I’ve found the best way to do it is detailed at the following link.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AppleKeyboard#Ubuntu_9.04_to_12.04_LTS_.28Precise_Pangolin.29

The method I’m using is the first method listed which involves adding a hid_apple.conf file to the /etc/modprobe.d directory with the contents

options hid_apple fnmode=2

Previously I was using a different method that involved adding the line “echo 2 | sudo tee /sys/module/hid_apple/parameters/fnmode” to rc.local but for some reason on my laptop this doesn’t always appear to work as my Apple keyboard hasn’t yet been detected/loaded when this particular line is executed.

Leave a Reply

